I’m Thankful For Pecan Pie

I forgot my  camera at my apartment! That’s why Thanksgiving is in Instagram. Pecan pie is the best. And I don’t even like pie. It’s the only pie we made this Thanksgiving and it was perfect.The recipe tells you not to disturb the pecans when pouring the egg mixture on top… I definitely disturbed the pecans. But once you bake it… it doesn’t matter. It’s so delicious! My feet hurt so much from standing all day to help prepare Thanksgiving this year that I sat on a barstool to make this pie. It was pretty pathetic. I know it’s a little late for a pecan pie recipe, but it’s never too late to be thankful!

This year I’m thankful for lots of things:

*my mom and dad, for helping me so much this year
*brussel sprouts, for existing
*that I have the opportunity to study in Italy next semester
*my dog, Sophie

Let’s be serious. Thanksgiving is really about food, but it’s the only time I actually think about what I have to be thankful for. That’s bad. I should definitely be thinking about that more than once a year. I’m thankful for pecan pie right now? See, I’m doing better already!

  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups pecans
  • 1 (9 inch) unbaked deep dish pie crust
  1. Mix corn syrup, eggs, sugar, butter and vanilla using a spoon.
  2. Arrange the pecans on the bottom on the pie crust.
  3. Pour the egg mixture over the pecans slowly, try not to disturb them (I didn’t know pecans could be disturbed.)
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F on center rack of oven for 60 to 70 minutes.
  5. Cool for 2 hours before serving.
  6. Top with a giant dollop of whipped cream!

And since I’m doing an entirely Instagram post… here is my favorite girl, Soey and my new roommate this semester Cat Benatar.

Leave a Reply

