Herb Crusted Tofu with Avocado Lime Sauce

I’m loving herbed things lately. I am also loving tofu. That’s why this is perfect. It was also one of those things where you are watching Giada on Food Network and you just magically have everything she used for a recipe in your fridge. No? That’s not a thing? Well in this case, that’s exactly what happened.

When you use tofu it comes packaged in water. You have to drain the water, then get all the water out of the tofu. I like to use a dishtowel because it’s kind of wasteful to use paper towels (you’d use so many because tofu is a super scary water sponge). Basically, I just wrap the clean dishtowel around the tofu and gently press on all side until no more water comes out. Also, I always buy extra firm tofu, but you can buy whatever you like best. I am no tofu expert. I love recipes where the instructions are basically blending everything together. This is the case here. You blend everything except for the tofu and the herbs you cover it with. Perfect.When I made my herb mixture I over salted. It’s important to be literate when cooking… and if not literate, at least logical. Apparently I am neither.Sear those little cuties until the herbs create a crust. The lime and avocado in this cream sauce are so yummy. This supper makes me feel good and healthy… for five minutes before I raid the fridge for two slices of cheese and a brownie. But let’s operate under the illusion that I ate only this.

1 package tofu
1 avocado
1 lime
1 tablespoon herb de provence
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon basil
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 cloves garlic

  • Drain tofu and pat dry with towel. Cut in half lengthwise. Cut into eight triangles.
  • Drizzle with olive oil and roll in a salt/pepper and herb mixture. Set aside.
  • Slice the avocado and remove the pit. Scoop out with a spoon and put in food processor. Add the garlic, olive oil, lime juice and a dash of basil. Pulse until smooth.
  • Heat a skillet and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Sear the tofu pieces on each side.
  • Transfer to a plate and spoon avocado sauce on top.


Leave a Reply

