Brown Butter Poached Eggs with Herbed Pasta

 

Take me away. I’m sitting in a Starbucks downtown trying to write a paper. It’s raining ice outside and I downed my latte approximently one hour ago. I forgot headphones so I’m writing this paper to reggae and the obnoxiously loud baristas.

Okay, are we done complaining? That felt good. Instead of writing this paper I’m going to show you how to make my favorite thing. Pasta and eggs. Give me a minute to talk about how much I love eggs.

I. LOVE. EGGS.

On days when toast isn’t my favorite food, it’s eggs. It’s about to be a four day weekend and I’m writing a paper about e-readers and thinking about eggs. I’m cool.

I’m trying something new here. I’m not going to post pictures of every step. You guys are smart. You know how to boil water, right? Let me know what you think!

This recipe is for one, but essentially just add more eggs and pasta if there are more people.

Boil water and add the spaghetti.
Add the butter to a heated pan and stir until it turns a brown/amber color. Take off the heat and set off to the side. This egg is a dementor from Harry Potter. Every time I poach eggs I think about dementors. Weird? Possibly.


Remove your poached eggs from the water and transfer to a paper towel. Blot and then put them in the brown butter. This is when I start drooling. Eggs and butter. It’s all the world needs. 
Season the pasta with salt and pepper and some herbs. 
Add the olive oil, reserved pasta water and top with the poached eggs. Also, you should probably just dump the rest of that browned butter right on top. You know you want to. 

1/4 pack of spaghetti
2 eggs
dried basil
dried parsley
1/2 stick of butter (just got with it)
3/4 tablespoon of olive oil
1/8 cup reserve pasta water

  • Boil water. Salt the water and add the spaghetti. Cook according to package directions. Reserve 1/8 cup of cooking water. Drain and return pasta to the pan.
  • Brown the butter over medium heat, stirring continuously until it looks amber. Take off the heat and set aside.
  • Boil 4 inches of water in a skillet or saucepan. Reduce to a simmer. Swirl the water until it creates a whirlpool. Crack the egg into a mug and slowly slide it into the center of the whirlpool. Watch the egg white swirl around the yolk. Only cook it long enough for the whites to set. Remove with a slotted spoon and transfer to a paper towel to blot.
  • Transfer to the browned butter. Spoon the butter on top of the eggs.
  • Season the pasta with herbs, olive oil and reserved water.
  • Top with poached eggs.

 

 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: I Love Breakfast | A Twist Of Kate

Leave a Reply

