Salted Caramel Pumpkin Blondies

I am sick. I have eaten oatmeal every day and I have drank about 10 gallons of green tea. The last thing I wanted to do was make salted caramel pumpkin blondies. I was so excited about these. Truly excited. I made a special trip to the grocery store for pumpkin puree. Then my sore throat went from an annoyance to what I now think is a sinus infection. The reason I made salted caramel pumpkin blondies is because one of my professors wrote me a recommendation letter two days before it was due. She deserves something delicious. Thank you Meta! I also am giving her some apple butter that I made. Seasonal gifts are the best. Let’s hope she likes fall. So please excuse the bad photography, it was late and like I said, I didn’t want to be baking anything, nevertheless taking pictures of it.

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks room temperature butter
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup salted caramel sauce 

Combine all the dry ingredients. Cream together the butter and brown sugar until very light and fluffy. This is the part where I wish I had a KitchenAid.  Add the egg and vanilla.Add the pumpkin puree.  Add the reserved flour mixture slowly, and stop when the batter is just combined. I skipped some pictures. I’m sick, remember?Spray a 9×9 baking dish with cooking spray.  Add half of the batter and bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.Pour over the caramel sauce. Cover the caramel with the remaining batter. I skipped a picture of this too. It was actually kind of messy but I’m sure you’ll be able to do it better. I believe in you.
Return the blondies to the oven and bake for another 30 minutes. A toothpick should come out clean. Let the blondies cool before cutting.

 Pour some more caramel sauce over the top. I didn’t take a picture of this either because these weren’t for me! But I snuck one anyways. So much fall deliciousness.

This recipe is from bakedbree.com

Leave a Reply

