Ancho Chicken Tortilla Soup


I have never been a fan of Rachel Ray. Until recently when I started watching her every single day. It’s part of my 4pm Food Network line up. Rachel Ray, Giada, Barefoot Contessa (she is such a snot but I love her recipes), then Paula. So I saw this recipe on 30 minute Meals one day and have been wanting to make it ever since. I finally did! They didn’t have ancho chiles at my grocery store so the produce man told me to use a different kind. To be honest, I can’t remember the name but I believe they were Poblano chiles. Poblano chiles are apparently Ancho chiles before they are dried. Who knew? I also left the corn out because I didn’t have any!


6 (6-inch) flour tortillas
Cooking spray
2 large ancho chiles, seeded and stemmed
1 quart chicken stock
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 ears corn on the cob, husked, kernels removed or 1 cup frozen kernels, defrosted
1 large red onion, chopped
1 jalapeno chile seeded and chopped or thinly sliced
1 red chile pepper, seeded and chopped or thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/3 palmful
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked sweet paprika, half a palmful
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, eyeball it in your palm
1 (28-ounce) can fire roasted diced or crushed tomatoes
1 tablespoon honey
1 rotisserie chicken, skinned and shredded
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 to 2 cups water
2 limes
2 ripe Hass avocados, halved
Sour cream, for garnish
cilantro leaves, for garnish

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut the tortillas into half inch strips. Scatter on a baking pan and spray with cooking spray. Put them in the oven until they are brown and crispy.
While the tortillas brown, add the ancho chiles and the chicken stock to a pot. Bring to a boil and simmer until the chiles are tender. Take off the heat and let them cool. 
While they simmer, put vegetable oil in a large soup pot and add the corn. Saute until brown on the edges then add the onion, red chile, garlic, and jalapeno.
Season with cumin, smoked paprika and cinnamon. Saute for 5 minutes, then stir in the tomatoes. I used real tomato because I didn’t have canned tomato.
Puree the anchos and the stock in a food processor, then add it to the soup pot. Stir in the honey and the shredded chicken and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Thin the soup with 1 or 2 cups of water and simmer over low heat to combine flavors, about 5 minutes.
Zest and juice 1 lime and add to the soup pot. Seed and dice the avocados and add to a small bowl. Dress with the juice of the remaining lime. Avocados are so beautiful, I had to put this picture in.
 Add the crispy tortilla chips then ladle the soup on top. Dress with sour scream and cilantro. The lime is out of control in this recipe. It makes it so fresh tasting. I think my Mom would really love this recipe, so Mom… make this. 

 

 

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

