Pesto/ Pizza/ Firemen

This pesto was the cause of the most dramatic night thus far in my new apartment. Was this pesto worth it? I would say so. I was just trying to make pizza. Pesto pizza. Delicious pesto pizza and because everything in our house is on a slant (we’ll call it quaint) the olive oil from my pizza stone dripped onto the bottom of the oven. This omitted a bad smell. Along with that smell, there was an odor of gas filling up the apartment. Next thing I know, every alarm in the apartment is beeping and screaming, so in a fit of frazzlement I hit the quiet button. I tell my roommates not to worry, it must’ve been the burning olive oil. After I get the pizza in the oven I decide to take a second look. Opps, it wasn’t the smoke detector but the carbon monoxide detector that was going off. I was slightly concerned… so I opened the windows and continued cooking my pizza.

At this point, I was so scared to continue using the oven that I didn’t even want to cook my second pizza. I tried to enjoy my pesto pizza but I couldn’t help thinking,
“Tonight I am going to die. Like that episode of CSI where the whole family wakes up blue. Oh wait, they don’t wake up.”

Soon after, one of my roommates didn’t feel well so we decided to gives our friends at the Boston Fire Department a call. They shot over here lights swirling, sirens blaring (so dramatic) and checked the carbon monoxide levels in the place. Turns out we were fine but I met a few firemen (always a plus) and got to sleep safe and sound. So here’s the pesto that started it all…

Oh wait! My adorable, perfect, pumpkin muffin of a little sister bought me a spice rack for my apartment! She knew I wanted one so badly so she went out and bought me one with her own money. HOW NICE IS THAT. It’s even prettier from the back! Thanks Brie!Oh right, pesto…1 bunch of basil
1/4 cup pine nuts
1/2 cup olive oil
1 clove garlic
grated parmesan cheese

Smash and peel the garlic. Add it to the food processor with the basil and pine nuts. Isn’t my baby food processor adorable? 
Pulse together. Stream olive oil in while the food processor is going. Because I have a baby food processor I can’t add anything while it’s still going. It still worked though. And that’s it! Seriously. It’s beyond easy. I should’ve stopped here because then the fire department wouldn’t have shown up. I didn’t.


pizza dough
tomato
sauce
mozzarella
pesto

Roll out the dough. If you’re smart this is the part where you put the dough on the pizza stone. I am so bad at this part. Reference pizza bianca.
Slather on that pesto. MmmmmAdd the mozzarella. Don’t be shy. I added so much mozzarella. But I didn’t take any pictures from this point on. Just use your imagination. Me running around fanning carbon monoxide detectors like they are smoke alarms. Trying to move the pizza to the stone and quickly realizing it needs to be a calzone. I did manage to get a picture of the last slice. Pesto pizza should be an enjoyable experience…so try not to set off carbon monoxide detectors while you’re making it.

On my second pizza I put sauce, mozzarella, tomato slices and basil. Double yum. I hope your pesto pizza making experience is less dramatic than mine!

4 responses

  1. THAT was Awesome! Who doesn’t like meeting firemen…:)
    And the picture of your “green pizza” looks like a green porkchop. So cute.
    Love you and glad your ok.

Leave a Reply

