Memere’s Banana Bread

I moved into my first apartment! And this is the first thing I made in my new kitchen! My mom bought all my groceries for me before I moved in because everything in Boston is so much more expensive (what a good mommy) but the bananas didn’t travel very well. By the time I had unpacked the kitchen and gave everything a place, the bananas were brown and mushy. Banana bread it is. [note: if you’re bananas are brown and nasty and you’re not in the banana bread making mood, put them in the freezer and take them out when the mood strikes…which for me is like, everyday.]

Once I finished this post I realized I wrote all the directions under the picture instead of on top which is like… not right. I’m just too tired to fix it. It’s like a matching game. Match the direction to the picture. Don’t worry, it won’t happen again.

Things I Learned While Making This:

I own the world’s worst rubber spatula.

I am much cleaner in this apartment than I am at my own home. (sorry, Mom)

Taking pictures with my point and shoot camera because my DSLR battery charger is NOWHERE TO BE FOUND isn’t as bad as I thought.


Excuse the blasting light from the left.

3 medium sized bananas (mashed)
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup crisco
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
Add the sugar and the crisco.Then the egg. Mix together.Mix together the dry ingredients. Beat together. This is about the time when I realize I own the worst rubber spatula every created. I want to know who produced it and was like, “This is a good idea. This will definitely work.” I wish you could feel this spatula through the computer. It’s just… bad.Pour the delicious batter into a greased pan. Use said horrible rubber spatula to get all the batter out of the bowl and off the beaters. I just wanted to interject a picture of my recipe binder that I crafted last night. It has a combination of my Memere’s recipes, my Mom’s recipes and random stuff from cookbooks at my house.

Bake the bread at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. This bread was served to a house full of helpful parents and relatives and roommates. Welcome home, Kate! 

5 responses

  1. Hi Katie, love, love , love your wonderful blog, your personal chat along with the recipes is so
    much fun. Just wanted to mention that there is no flour mentioned in the Banana Bread recipe, just thought maybe that might make the recipe come together a little better !!! I think we have all left something out of a recipe at some time or another, I know I have.. I look forward to seeing your next entry.

Leave a Reply

