Baked Upside Down Apple French toast

I’m not a big french toast eater but after watching Tyler Florence make this, I had to have it. I woke up late this morning to my mother’s impatience and hunger. I figured I’d use this recipe to make a nice breakfast for my family. Well, breakfast doesn’t start at 11am in my house, not to mention this takes 45 minutes to bake. So breakfast will in fact be at 12:30. I’m writing this now as it’s in the oven and it smells delicious. Although it was one of those mornings where everything was annoying, my coffee was cold and my mom was mothering, I think this may just fix it.

4 eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 loaf challah bread, cut into 1 inch thick slices (I used Hawaiian bread because we couldn’t find challah)
1/2 stick unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
1 cup light brown sugar, plus more for sprinkling
4 Granny Smith apples
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup dried cranberries
powdered sugarPreheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a flat dish crack eggs and add milk, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Whisk until well combined then lay challah slices in mixture to coat and absorb it. Give it a good flip so all the sides soak up the milk and egg. Make sure you whisk that egg well, I’ve had french toast that essentially looks like a fried egg on bread covered in maple syrup. Not my favorite.Set a 10-inch skillet over medium heat, cast iron if you have one (my mom does so I’m lucky but at school I’d be using a jank second hand frying pan). Add the butter and 1 cup of sugar and cook, stirring constantly, until the sugar has melted and caramelized, about 8 minutes.While the sugar is melting, peel apples, core and cut into halves. Remove caramelized sugar from heat and gently whisk in heavy cream. Sprinkle in the pecans, dried cranberries and gently press the apple halves so there is a flat surface. (Forgot the picture of the apple step. Opps, sorry!)

Lay soaked slices of challah over the top so it is completely covered. You should be able to to arrange the large slices so there are no gaps. Sprinkle the top with some brown sugar and place into the preheated oven. I want to eat it just like this. It looks like delicious challah cinnamon rolls. Bake in the middle of the oven for 40 to 45 minutes until the top is golden and puffy. When it’s done, let it cool for a few minutes then invert it onto a big plate. It’s going to ooze delicious goodness from the apples. If you want it to be extra delicious, sop that up with your slice of french toast. AH! So good. Enjoy!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

